Instrumentation Piano solo

Timing 5’40”

Composed 2019

World Premiere March 23, 2021, The Post at 750, Vancouver, British Columbia. Rachel Kiyo Iwaasa, piano. Virtual concert on YouTube presented by Vancouver Pro Musica.

Programme Notes

AfterShock is a short work for solo piano in two connected movements. In the searching and portentous first movement After, extensive use is made of silently held keys to create clouds of sympathetic harmonic resonances. In the second movement Shock, the fuse is lit, and the music explodes into driving insistent rhythms and patterns covering the entire keyboard.

PDF perusal score

AfterShock perusal

Get music

Score $9 print, $6 PDF
To purchase, please contact me.