Instrumentation tuba solo

Timing ca. 5′

Composed 2022

World Premiere Coming in 2023

Programme Notes

I: Afternoon
II: Spring
III: Sibelius

An Afternoon in Spring with Sibelius is a suite of three short movements for solo tuba. A far more flexible instrument than it is often given credit for, the tuba rarely gets to take the spotlight in an orchestral setting. In An Afternoon in Spring with Sibelius, each of the three movements is a tongue-in-cheek tubistic riff on a famous opening woodwind solo from the orchestral repertoire: the flute from Debussy’s Prelude to the Afternoon of a Faun, the bassoon from Stravinsky’s The Rite of Spring, and the clarinet from the First Symphony of Sibelius.

An Afternoon in Spring with Sibelius is dedicated to tubist Peder MacLellan with thanks for his help and advice. It was made possible with support from the British Columbia Arts Council.

PDF score

Perusal copy coming soon. The score will be available for free download after the world premiere.

Get music

Available after premiere!