Instrumentation Piano solo

Timing 10′ in seven movements

Composed 2016

Commissioned by Eckhardt-Gramatté National Music Competition

World Premiere May 6, 2016, Lorne Watson Recital Hall, University of Brandon, Brandon, Manitoba. Jialiang Zhu, piano

Performance Note

The seven movements of Mirari may be performed in any order of the performer’s choosing.

Programme Notes

“We should always endeavour to wonder at the permanent thing, not at the mere exception. We should be startled by the sun, and not by the eclipse. We should wonder less at the earthquake, and wonder more at the earth.” (G.K. Chesterton)

“Mirari” is a Latin word meaning “to marvel at”. The seven wonders that comprise this collection of miniatures for solo piano are inspired by things that amaze me: the complex interconnected systems of the body (Acromion); the unknowable vastness of the universe (Gegenschein); the slow but constant movement of the continents under our feet (Gondwana (Bunda Cliffs)); the elegance of mathematics (The Invention of Zero); the diversity of lifeforms, each as evolutionally advanced as it has ever been (Platypus); the visible power and effect of the Sun and Moon (Spring Tide); and the infinite ability of human imagination to create entire new worlds ((This Is A) Work of Fiction).

Mirari was commissioned by the Eckhardt-Gramatté National Music Competition as the imposed work for the 2016 competition.

PDF perusal score

Mirari perusal


First Prize winner Matt Poon‘s live performance from the E-Gré finals, May 8, 2016, in Brandon, Manitoba


Mirari performed by Jialiang Zhu.
I. Gondwana (Bunda Cliffs) 0:00-1:21
II. Platypus 1:21-3:06
III. The Invention Of Zero 3:07-4:02
IV. (This Is A) Work of Fiction 4:05-5:57
V. Spring Tide 5:57-7:04
VI. Acromion 7:04-8:02
VII. Gegenschein 8:10-11:08

Get music

Score $15 print, $9 PDF
To purchase, please contact me.